Vergne receives ‘Moment of the Year’ accolade at Autosport Awards

For Jean-Eric Vergne, the 2018 season was one to remember as the DS TECHEETAH driver won his second ABB Formula E drivers’ title, defending the crown he won the previous season.

During one of the most exciting and unpredictable of all Formula E seasons in the new Generation 2 machines, several drivers were in with a shout of winning the championship as the title went down to the wire in New York.

But, following victories in Sanya, Monaco and Bern, seventh place in race two in the ‘Big Apple’ was enough to see the Frenchman home to his second title. To mark his historic achievement, Vergne was the recipient of the first ‘Moment of the Year’ Award, presented by Marelli, at the prestigious end of year Autosport Awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London.

Vergne, who collected his award from McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown, beat a strong list of other contenders, including Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, both nominated for their parts in an exciting Italian Grand Prix. Suzuki MotoGP rider Alex Rins was also nominated for a bold overtake on MotoGP champion Marc Marquez at the British Grand Prix.

“So pleased, I remember my first time at the Autosport Awards and realising how big the motorsport community is,” Vergne is quoted on Autosport. “To win the championship twice was a good achievement. I got my love back for motorsport, winning races – sometimes losing – but it’s been great and I hope it’s just the beginning.”

Other winners at the Autosport Awards included Lewis Hamilton, who won International Racing Driver of the Year, whilst Lando Norris was crowned British Competition Driver of the Year. Red Bull Racing’s Alex Albon collected the Richard Mille Rookie of the Year award and Marc Marquez was Rider of the Year after another dominant MotoGP season.

Fraser Masefield

Sports news and features writer, web editor and author.