Lynn replaces Wehrlein at Mahindra as 2020/21 FE calendar announced

With the 2020 ABB Formula E season set to resume and conclude with six races in nine days at the Tempelhof Airport in Berlin, teams are busy preparing for the long overdue return to racing.

One of those teams, Mahindra Racing, has announced that former Virgin Racing and Jaguar driver Alex Lynn will join the team with immediate effect, replacing Pascal Wehrlein – who is expected to join Porsche.

The 26-year-old Englishman is no stranger to success in motorsport, having won the prestigious Macau Grand Prix in 2013 before claiming the GP3 Series crown in 2014. He is also a multiple race winner in GP2 and has also triumphed in the Sebring 12 Hours.

“I am really excited to be able to represent Mahindra Racing in Berlin,” said Lynn in a Mahindra team statement. “I have high ambitions in this championship that match what Mahindra Racing wants to achieve. I just can’t wait to get started. I’ve raced twice in Berlin before and always felt that I went well there, including appearing in Super Pole last season. The format of Berlin is going to be exciting and challenging at the same time and I’m looking forward to hitting the ground running.”

The FIA has also revealed the provisional calendar for the 2020/21 season, following approval of the FIA World Motor Sport Council. With the series officially recognised as an FIA world championship for the first time, Season 7 will begin in Santiago on January 16 and conclude with a double-header decider in London on July 24 & 25.

After races in Rome and Paris in April, Monaco returns to the calendar for its bi-annual spot, with the famous Principality also hosting the Historics and Formula One during a busy year. There is just one date to be confirmed with a venue yet to be decided for June 5, the race falling between the Seoul e-Prix on May 23 and Berlin e-Prix on June 19.

Provisional Season 7 calendar

Santiago, Chile – 16 January 2021

Mexico City, Mexico – 13 February 2021

Diriyah, Saudi Arabia – 26 – 27 February 2021

Sanya, China – 13 March 2021

Rome*, Italy – 10 April 2021

Paris, France – 24 April 2021

Monaco*, Monaco – 8 May 2021

Seoul*, South Korea – 23 May 2021

TBC, TBC – 5 June 2021

Berlin, Germany – 19 June 2021

New York City, USA – 10 July 2021

London, UK – 24 – 25 July 2021

Fraser Masefield

Sports news and features writer, web editor and author.