Jamie Chadwick

Jamie Chadwick excited about Formula E test with NIO as 2019 grid nears completion

As the sun set on another exciting F1 season in Abu Dhabi last weekend, so the 2018/19 Formula E season soon kicks into action with the opening race of the season in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, on December 15.

It has also been announced that Formula E will host an in-season test after the Ad Diriyah ePrix, with the driver line-ups announced.

Most significantly, teams that run female drivers in addition to their regular drivers, have also been handed places at the test that runs the day after the first ePrix of the season.

For Acronis partner team NIO, Jamie Chadwick, who won the 2015 British GT4 championship, joins regular drivers Oliver Turvey and Tom Dillmann at the circuit with teams entering female drivers allowed two cars during the session.

“I think firstly it’s a fantastic opportunity for all drivers to be able to get out in Saudi Arabia but for me to be able to do it with NIO is great and I had a cool opportunity to go out to Valencia with them and meet the team and from what I’ve seen they’re a fantastic group of people so yeah, really excited about it.

“It’s my first experience of electric racing so that’s going to be something different in itself but yeah, from what I’ve seen the car looks great and I’m excited to get out there.”

Simona de Silvestro, Carmen Jorda, Tatiana Calderon and Katherine Legge will also take part in the test, with the completed line-up as follows:

Team Session 1 Session 2
Virgin Racing Robin Frijns Sam Bird
Amna Al Qubaisi Amna Al Qubaisi
HWA TBC Stoffel Vandoorne
Gary Paffett TBC
Dragon TBC TBC
Jose Maria Lopez Max Gunther
NIO Jamie Chadwick Jamie Chadwick
Oliver Turvey/Tom Dillmann Oliver Turvey/Tom Dillmann
Venturi Simona de Silvestro Simona de Silvestro
Felipe Massa Edoardo Mortara
Jaguar Racing Mitch Evans Mitch Evans
Nissan e.dams Carmen Jorda Carmen Jorda
Alex Albon/Sebastien Buemi Alex Albon/Sebastien Buemi
DS Techeetah Tatiana Calderon Jean-Eric Vergne
Andre Lotterer Tatiana Calderon
BMW Andretti Alexander Sims Alexander Sims
Beitske Visser Beitske Visser
Mahindra Racing Jerome D’Ambrosio Jerome D’Ambrosio
Katherine Legge Katherine Legge
Audi Nico Muller Nico Muller

Formula E entry list for the 2018/19 seasion

The Formula E entry list for the 2018/19 season is close to being finalised, with Alexander Albon (provisionally named as a Nissan e.dams driver) being confirmed as a Toro Rosso Formula One driver since the date of writing.

Mahindra Racing have also named Felix Rosenqvist on the list, although he will be replaced by Pascal Wehrlein for the second round in Marrakech.

Although teams had to submit their entry lists with drivers ‘eLicences’ in late October, they still have until two weeks before the opening race to name their starting drivers.

Entry list as follows:

Audi: Lucas di Grassi, Daniel Abt
DS Techeetah: Jean-Eric Vergne, Andre Lotterer
Virgin Racing: Sam Bird, Robin Frijns
Mahindra Racing: Jerome D’Ambrosio, Felix Rosenqvist (replaced by Wehrlein in Marrakech)
Nissan e.dams: Sebastien Buemi, Alexander Albon
Jaguar: Mitch Evans, Nelson Piquet Jr
Venturi: Felipe Massa, Edoardo Mortara
NIO: Oliver Turvey, Tom Dillmann
Dragon: Jose Maria Lopez, Maximilian Gunther
BMW Andretti: Antonio Felix da Costa, Alexander Sims
HWA: Gary Paffett, Stoffel Vandoorne

Top image: Jamie Chadwick. Source: https://www.nio.io/news/nio-supporting-female-talent-after-confirming-rising-british-star-jamie-chadwick-official 

Fraser Masefield

Sports news and features writer, web editor and author.