Motor Racing - Formula One World Championship - Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Practice Day - Abu Dhabi, UAE

Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi complete 2020 Formula One calendar

The 2020 Formula One calendar is now complete, with 17 races the final tally after a brilliant effort from race organisers and the sport’s governing body.

In the immediate aftermath of the global COVID-19 pandemic that has crippled the world at large, it has been a monumental effort to get the Formula One season started at all, with social distancing, media bubbles and safety protocols well organised at every event.

Now, Formula 1 has confirmed the dates that will complete the season, with Turkey, Bahrain (two races) and Abu Dhabi making up the final total of 17 races, which is practically a full championship season.

“We are proud to announce that Turkey, Bahrain and Abu Dhabi will be part of our 2020 season. This year has presented Formula 1 and the world with an unprecedented challenge and we want to pay tribute to everyone across Formula 1, the FIA, the teams, and our partners who have made this possible,” commented Chase Carey, Chairman and CEO of Formula 1.

“While we are all disappointed that we have not been able to return to some of our planned races this year we are confident our season has started well and will continue to deliver plenty of excitement with traditional, as well as new, races that will entertain all our fans.”

The news means that previously mooted races in China and Vietnam will now not be happening, but will again be on the calendar for 2021 should circumstances allow. The famous Spa-Francorchamps circuit in Belgium is next up from 28-30 August, with an Italian double header at Monza and Mugello to follow. Races in Sochi, Nurburgring and the new to F1 Portimao circuit then precede a return to Imola, before the final four races of the season.

Motorsport Technology