Formula E Saudi Arabia

Formula E releases 2019/20 calendar

Following on from the FIA World Motorsport Council Meeting in Paris on Friday, the 2019/20 ABB FIA Formula E season calendar has been revealed.

The sixth season of the popular electric street racing series will kick off with the double round Ad Diriyah E-Prix in Saudi Arabia on November 22 and 23 in a calendar that also includes a new race in Seoul on May 3 and a welcome return to the calendar for London, the double-header concluding the season after New York.

Two rounds of the season have been pencilled in as ‘TBC’, with Marrakesh again thought to be in the running along with Sanya for the other slot. Switzerland, however, will not host a race despite hosting in Zurich last season and Bern this coming weekend.

Porsche’s entry to the championship for 2019/20 means that Santiago, Mexico City and Hong Kong will feature longer layouts to accommodate the extended grid and London will be the first circuit to run both indoors and outside, incorporating the ExCeL Centre.

Provisional 2019/20 Formula E calendar

1. Ad Diriyah** November 22, 2019

2. Ad Diriyah November 23, 2019

3. TBC December 14, 2019

4. Santiago* January 18 ,2020

5. Mexico City* February 15, 2020

6. Hong Kong* March 1, 2020

7. TBC March 21, 2020

8. Rome April 4, 2020

9. Paris April 18, 2020

10. Seoul* May 3, 2020

11. Berlin May 30, 2020

12. New York City June 20, 2020

13. London* July 25, 2020

14. London* July 26, 2020

*Subject to FIA circuit homologation

**Double-header subject to Saudi government agreement

Fraser Masefield

Sports news and features writer, web editor and author.

Most popular